in memory of…

16 Mar

this blog post is in memory of my cheetah print grocery cart

you had a short but helpful existence in the life of Dira 653.

You were always strong, reliable and ready to take on the shuk or grocery store when necessary.

Your memory will truly be a blessing.

This week our beloved grocery cart decided to take a spill and the wheel broke off as we were rolling it over a curb after a trip to the grocery store. This was one of the sadder moments that I have had since I got to Jerusalem. We are planning on bringing it back to the store to see if they can replace the wheel. I was surprised that it broke so soon after we bought it because you see so many of the carts at the shuk that look very old, however, the wheels are intact. Image

On a more positive note, my friends and I finally made it to a restaurant we have all been dying to go to called Azura. It is located in the shuk and has been around since the 1950s. It serves classic israeli, homestyle food. Even though it was hot outside, the Matfuniah Kubbeh soup that I ordered hit all of my spots. Kubbeh are dumplings made out of semolina which are stuffed with meat. They are served in a semi sour broth with celery, swiss chard and zucchini. It was so good I went back the next day and got the same thing.

Image

Israel suffered from a heat wave this week so we thought it would be a good opportunity to go to the beach. It was so warm outside, a little to hot for my liking but nonetheless, an enjoyable time. We left after hebrew thursday morning and spent thursday at the beach. Later that night, we went to an outdoor bar on Rothschild, which is one of Tel-Aviv’s nicest streets with beautiful apartments and many small neighborhood cafes. It is kind of a funny story, but I knew our waitress. Not only did she go to my camp, she was also a Chi O.  It is always so nice unexpectedly running into people in Israel. Friday morning we went to a vegetarian, all you can eat restaurant for lunch. It was quite delicious and I will definitely go back. It had a great atmosphere and the food was also very tasty. We then grabbed our bags and headed back to Jerusalem before shabbat began.

In classic Israeli fashion, the bus overheated and broke down 20 minutes outside of Jerusalem. Luckily, the bus driver had pulled over so we were not in any danger and another bus picked us up and brought us home. After a much needed nap, I made dessert to bring to shabbat dinner. This was the third one we have had in three weeks! It is so nice celebrating with all my friends here.

I am eagerly awaiting the next couple weeks. Spring breaks starts on thursday! I am going on Yam el Yam from thursday to sunday. Then Monday is passover and then Tuesday I am leaving to meet my family in Rome for 10 days. It is going to be quite the whirlwind and an amazing trip.

That’s all for now,

xoxoxo

Jamie

One Response to “in memory of…”

  1. Joel Mayer March 16, 2013 at 3:55 pm #

    Jamie, if you bring your grocery cart to Italy and I will try to fix it.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

